Despite being in work at 6am and not getting home until 7.30pm I stuck to my plan and did half an hour on the rollers last night.

Yes, I know it was only day one of the plan so it's not a massive achievement, but I really felt like curling up in front of the telly instead of pulling on a pair of shorts, setting up the rollers in the conservatory (it was far too cold in the garage) and getting all sweaty.

I had a fan and my laptop in front of me, to give a bit of cooling and some entertainment, and started to pedal at just after 8.45pm. Thank goodness for the BBC iPlayer. I think I'm going to be watching it a lot in the coming months.

There were a few wobbles where the wheels of the bike lost contact with the rollers and I had to stop and lift myself back on to carry on, but learning to stay on will be great practice to ensure my pedalling technique is smoother and more efficient.

30 minutes later I had cycled 7 miles, sweated quite a bit and felt happy to have started the long journey to get to the start line in May.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Gareth is in his mid 30s, has 4 dogs, 3 cats, less hair and more belly than he used to have.

    He's committed to cycling 1000 miles in 9 days for Action Medical Research in May 2011.

    Archives

    December 2010
    November 2010

    Categories

    All
    Bike
    Injury
    Kit
    Logistics
    Road Cycling
    Supporters
    Training
    Training Aids
    Yoga

    RSS Feed